July 9, 2019,   11:25 AM

As The US Wins The 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup Again, Meet The Other Teams That Have Raised The Trophy

Fouzia Azzab

Arabic editor- Forbes Middle East FULL BIO

usa football

The US broke its own record defending its title for the women’s football world cup for the fourth time, winning 2-0 against the Netherlands in the final in France on Sunday.

Winning the title was not an easy feat. Having the ball for an hour, it was Rapinoe’s second half penalty (and her sixth goal in the tournament) that set the US on the road to victory, then Lavelle came and doubled the score in the 69th minute.

"I could barely speak, but I said they were unbelievable. Congratulations, you made history, enjoy it—just unbelievable. I have no words, sorry!" said Rapinoe, 34. “We have no quit in us, we're so tight and we'll do anything to win.”

The tournament this year saw an increase in the popularity of women’s football in the media. The 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup was the eighth edition of the tournament, which is held every four years. This year 24 teams fought it out for the title.

China held the first the FIFA Women’s World Cup in 1991, with 12 teams from around the world playing.

Here’s a list of the national teams that have won the women’s world cup since its launch.


The US has competed six times and won four times in 1991,1999, 2015 and 2019.

The US Women’s National Team (USWNT) is the most successful team in the history of women’s FIFA, winning the world cup four times and winning Olympic competitions four times. The team was ranked first in the FIFA World Rankings from 2008 to 2014, although it didn’t win the world cup in that time.

The team broke a record this year when it beat Thailand 13-0. It scored a total of 20 goals in the 2019 tournament. 


Germany has competed five times and won twice in 2003 and 2007.

Germany is the only country to win both the men’s and women’s FIFA World Cups. The women’s team also won the UEFA Women's Euro championship seven times in 1989, 1991, 1995, 1997, 2001, 2005 and 2009.

The first game played by the women national team was a face-off between West Germany and Switzerland in 1982. Germany’s biggest win was against Portugal in 2003, where it beat them 13-0. The team was knocked out of the 2019 competition by Sweden, who beat them 1-2.


Norway has competed five times and won once in 1995.

Norway competed in the women’s world cup for the first time in 1991. The team played this year without its golden star, Ada Hegerberg, who has previously been awarded the Gold Ball and the UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe award, and was named BBC Women's Footballer of the Year in 2017 and 2019.

Hegerberg quit the national team due to a dispute with her home federation about how women's soccer is treated in the country.

Norway was knocked out of the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in the semifinals, losing to England 0-3.


Japan has competed six times and won once in 2011.

Known as Nadeshiko in Japan, the team became the first Asian women team to hold the world cup title in 2011, when it beat the US in the final.

Japan was knocked out of the 2019 competition by the Netherlands, who beat them 1-2.

Recommended Articles